Financing for Development: Global Economic Solutions Now!

Sep 22 2021 - 1:30pm - 2:45pm
Global
Venue  Online
Share on Facebook Tweet this Email Print Share

Organiser: Civil Society Financing for Development (FfD) Group
Co-organisers: Afrodad, CSO Partnership for Development Effectiveness (CPDE), Eurodad, Global Policy Forum (GPF), Jubilee USA, Latindadd, Society for International Development (SID)

At the 2021 FfD Forum, the world’s governments agreed to adopt an FfD outcome document filled with rhetoric and no action, sticking to business as usual in the midst of an unprecedented global crisis. National level decisions, while important, are insufficient to ensure the required policy and fiscal space needed for a decolonial, feminist and just transition for people and planet. We call on governments to step up and demonstrate much-needed leadership in the following weeks within UN General Assembly (UNGA) to ensure progress on key systemic reforms on debt, illicit financial flows including tax dodging, trade etc. Governments should also agree on the next FfD conference at the UNGA, which could be in the form of an International Economic Reconstruction and Systemic Reform Summit, to work towards global consensus on a new global economic governance architecture that could foster systemic reforms while promoting human rights, gender equality, social equity and environmental justice.

The event will feature presentations on upcoming civil society campaigns on global economic solutions to mobilize jointly around structural transformation. The time to act is NOW!

Speakers:

Jason Braganza, Afrodad: Presentation of The Harare Declaration 2021
Iolanda Fresnillo, Eurodad: Upcoming debt campaign actions
Chenai Mukumba, Tax Justice Network-Africa: Campaign rejecting tax deal of G7/G20/OECD
Jennifer del Rosario-Malonzo, IBON International (tbc): Integrated National Financing Frameworks (INFFs) and Aid effectiveness
Patricia Miranda, Latindadd: Campaign on Special Drawing Rights (SDRs)
Yoke Ling, Third World Network: Campaign on TRIPS waiver + ISDS moratorium

Moderator: Pooja Rangaprasad, Society for International Development (SID)
 

Financing for Development: Global Economic Solutions Now!
Date: Wednesday, 22 September 2021
Time: 13:30 – 14:45 UTC/GMT (8:30 Lima / 9:30 NY / 16:30 Nairobi / 19:00 Delhi / 21:30 Manila)
Register here