Generation Equality Forum: Beijing+25 and the Future of Care

Mar 30 2021 - 4:00pm
Global
Venue  Zoom
Share on Facebook Tweet this Email Print Share

Details

Mar 30 2021 - 4:00pm

This is a side event to the global Generation Equality Forum (GEF), organised by UN Women and aiming to achieve concrete actions for gender equality. The 2021 meeting is especially relevant since it marks the 25th anniversary of the Beijing Platform for Action (BPfA) adoption (progressive agenda in guaranteeing women's rights), and on this occasion the advances, setbacks, and the future of the application of the Beijing+25 Platform by governments across the world will be evaluated.

We will discuss the advances and setbacks in the application of public policies for women in Latin America, as well as the links between tax justice, quality public services, the future of care work and its impacts on gender equality.

Public Services International (PSI), alongside civil society organizations, will present recent research on the subject and recommendations that should be followed by the UN and the governments of the region to ensure gender-oriented quality public services, influencing the GEF’s discussions.

Interpretation available in Spanish-Portuguese-English.

Date/Time: 30 March at
8 AM (Mexico City)
10 AM (New York)
11 AM (Brasilia / Buenos Aires / Asunción)
4 PM (Paris)
5 PM (Nairobi)

Registrations: https://bit.ly/3cGtwGs

--
La actividad es un evento paralelo al Foro Generación de Igualdad, que es una reunión mundial convocada por ONU Mujeres con el objetivo de aplicar acciones concretas a favor de la igualdad de género. La reunión de 2021 es especialmente relevante porque marca el 25o aniversario de la adopción de la Plataforma de Acción de Beijing (BPfA) (agenda progresista en la garantía de los derechos de las mujeres), y en esta ocasión se evaluarán los avances, retrocesos y el futuro de la implementación del Beijing+25 por parte de los gobiernos de todo el mundo.

Discutiremos los avances y retrocesos en la aplicación de políticas públicas para mujeres en América Latina, así como los vínculos entre justicia tributaria, servicios públicos de calidad, el futuro del cuidado y sus impactos en la igualdad de género.

La Internacional de Servicios Públicos (ISP), junto con organizaciones de la sociedad civil, presentará investigaciones recientes sobre el tema y recomendaciones que deben ser seguidas por la ONU y los gobiernos de la región para garantizar servicios públicos de calidad con enfoque de género, influyendo en las discusiones del FMAM.

Interpretación disponible en español-portugués-inglés.

Fecha/Hora: 30 de marzo a las 
8 AM (Ciudad de Mexico)
10 AM (Nueva York)
11 AM (Brasilia / Buenos Aires / Asunción)
4 PM (Paris)
5 PM (Nairobi)

Registrations: https://bit.ly/3cGtwGs